Home » News

Manchester United SA Tour 2012

15 July 2012 The Touchline Expert

Manchester United have announced the 22 players who will be on tour in South Africa.

Sir Alex Ferguson has rested all the players who were involved in EURO 2012 namely Wayne Rooney, Phil Jones, Ashley Young, Danny Welbeck (all England), Patrice Evra (France) and Nani (Portugal). Futhermore, Ryan Giggs, De Gea and Tom Cleverley has been excluded due to their London 2012 Olympic Games responsibilities. On the injury list are Nemanja Vidic, Darren Fletcher and Chris Smalling, they will also not form part of the pre-season tour.

There are plenty of familiar faces in the Red Devils’s squad as Ferdinand, Valencia, Anderson, Carrick, Scholes, Berbatov, Macheda and “Chicharito” Hernandez are all fit and ready to go up against Amazulu and Ajax Cape Town. This tour will also give United fans a first glimpse of Bundesliga superstar, Shinji Kagawa.

Manchester United 2012 Tour Squad: Lindegaard, Amos, Johnstone, Ferdinand, Veseli, Vermijl, Wootton, Blackett; Valencia, Anderson, Carrick, Scholes, Powell, Kagawa, Bebe, Tunnicliffe, Lingard, Brady, Petrucci, Berbatov, Chicharito, Macheda.

18 July 2012 – Amazulu vs Manchester United – Moses Mabhida Stadium
21 July 2012 – Ajax Cape Town vs Manchester United – Cape Town Stadium

Both matches are sold out! Hope to see the Urban Warriors and Usuthu well represented in the stands.